What Does a Success Smoothie Taste Like?

We all want to be in control, right? To know that our hard work, our effort, is what makes or breaks us in life?

Winston Churchill, who knew a thing or two about success and failure, said “It is never possible to guarantee success; it is only possible to deserve it.” I like that, and I want to believe it.

But what happens when “fate” intervenes, when God in his Providence decides to strike you down – or build you up – and that notion of control, of human agency, shatters?

At the end of the book that bears his name, in chapter 42, all Job can do is bow in the dirt before God and say “I know that you can do all things; no purpose of yours can be thwarted.”

Then, later in Scripture, the apostle Paul tells us: “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” (Romans 8:28)

Put all of that in a bottle, blend it, pour it in a glass, and you end up with a big grey blob that you spend a lot of time trying to choke down because it’s healthy for you.

What you’re reading here is my first “formal” attempt to digest it.

The best I can do right now is this:

I believe that Providence and our own preparation meet every single day, requiring that we acknowledge God’s as Creator and Ruler of our lives while taking responsibility for our actions within the circumstances He creates for us.

I have serious doubts about my ability to unpack that in a way that’s both helpful to me and interesting to you, whoever “you” are that’s reading this. But I’m going to try.

I’ve asked two friends, Brandon and Kyle, to join me in this work. By and large you should find us united on the important principles, and having more than a little variance on how that all works out each day in our individual lives.

It’s going to get personal, at least for me. I can’t say the same for what Brandon and Kyle are going to contribute, but I’m more than pretty sure that, taken together and looking it at it over a long arc, it will be both fun and useful for us all.

Call me a “grateful go-getter.” I hope that made you laugh. You can choose whatever words you like to describe it, but if you’re reading this in a serious way, you’re doing so because you want to be your best personally and professionally while never forgetting that God is the Ultimate Source of any effort we can put forth.

I would wish us both luck, but luck’s got nothing to do with it, right?

More soon…

-Fred

Leave a Reply

